36 weeks, 4 days

24 Jun

Welllll, my easy first and second trimesters have come to haunt me right now: I broke my left pinky toe right on time for 9 months pregnant. 

GAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

It was so stupid, too. Monday night we’re settling down to watch TV, and I”m trying to make it so Mr. Wolf has a relaxing evening because he has a procedure Tuesday morning in which he has to “go under”. (Endoscopy: camera down throat to check out digestive system). So I’m walking across the dining room and accidently kick a chair.  INTENSE PAIN. I scream and start crying, and husband runs to the living room asking if I’m OK.  It hurt too much to even stand, and we both knew it was more than just a stub. I called my OB after-hours and they assured me that XRay would be fine at 35 weeks, to double shield.  The ER doctor took a look and told me that he felt comfortable XRAying me at 35 weeks, because at this point baby was fully developed and that they Xray premature babies starting at 23 weeks.  So at least that made me feel better, knowing it was safe.  The tech wheeled me and my big ol’ belly into the Xray room and I guess habit made him ask: “Any chance you might be pregnant?”  Uhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh, did he think I was just carrying fat strangely?  “yes, 35 weeks” as I rub my ginormous belly.  “Oh! The doctor knows and is OK with this, right?” ANd i explain what he said.

Anyway, yep. Toe fractured.  I thought walking due to swelling was rough.  Now I have to pound this poor pinky with all this added weight.  I have crutches which CERTAINLY I cannot nor would I “swing” on.  (My MIL lent me hers, and gave me a tutorial complete with the swinging technique. UM, NO.) I took the rest of the week off of work and rested. BORING. I caught up on alot of TV. Now I’m back at work today and am miserable.  It really was awful taking that short walk from the train station to my office. It was literally 5 minutes before, so not “far”, but on a broken toe it felt like a mile!

I have an OB appt tomorrow morning and am so wishing she says “Well, this is too stressful for you and bad for pregnancy so putting you on bed rest”.  I can dream, right?

I had my shower on Saturday!!!  I’ll dedicate a fun post to this, I don’t want all the bad toe news tainting my baby shower 🙂

3 Responses to “36 weeks, 4 days”

  1. nonsequiturchica June 24, 2013 at 5:22 pm #

    Ouch! What a bummer! How long are you going to be in pain/swollen?

    • mrslilybugg June 24, 2013 at 5:24 pm #

      they say 4-6 weeks to “heal”, but that I should be able to resume normal walking quicker than that. The only thing is, since there’s so much weight on me now I feel like walking will take longer to feel normal. ACK!

  2. JustMe June 24, 2013 at 8:35 pm #

    I’m pretty sure your broken toe IS putting you on bedrest. I think that’s just your body’s way of saying. Ok, look, this is ENOUGH! Relax as much as you can 🙂

Leave a Reply

